top of page
  • Writer's pictureWMTV

Taylor Swift: Lover

By Maggie Aschmeyer | Deputy Editor


I have been a dedicated Swiftie since watching the “You Belong With Me” video when I was eleven, so basically, I’m a T-Swizzle expert. With that in mind, here are my thoughts on her most recent and seventh album, Lover. Overall, I can safely say that the woman still knows how to write some kick-ass songs.


Best All-Around Song: “Cruel Summer”


This song sounds like it could be from 1989, and that’s probably why I like it so much; it’s polished pop perfection. The rumbling bass/rhythm line keeps the song moving and conjures the feeling of a rushed romance, and the chorus feels like splashing into the ocean on a hot summer's day. The lyrics fit together like a puzzle - not a word sounds out of place - which means that the finished project is smooth and easy to digest. In a few words; it’s a bop.


Devils roll the dice

Angels roll their eyes

And if I bleed you'll be the last to know


Deepest Song: “Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince”


You might not recognize this on a first listen, but this song turns the current American political system into the high school out of a horror movie, and boy do I love a good extended metaphor. It’s subtle but smart and demonstrates some of Swift’s best songwriting abilities. I do think this and some of her other more political songs suffer a bit from a lack of acknowledgement of her position as someone at the top of the ladder, but hey, girl’s got the spirit. Plus, there’s only so much you can pack into four minutes.


It's you and me, that's my whole world

They whisper in the hallway, "she's a bad, bad girl"

The whole school is rolling fake dice

You play stupid games, you win stupid prizes


Catchiest Song: “You Need to Calm Down”


Again, not sure how I feel about Swift comparing her experiences with being bullied on Twitter to the systematic and long-standing oppression of the LGTBQIA+ community, but it is nice to see her try and use her platform to argue acceptance. Either way, I put it on here for its sound, not its lyrics. The “Oh Ohhhhs” are so freaking catchy. The beat makes you wanna wiggle in like a chill kind of way. Not sure if that makes any sense, but I tried.


'Cause shade never made anybody less gay


Most Fun: “London Boy”


Because I’m a little bit trash and may have had one too many fascinations with hot British actors (ask me how many times I’ve watched the 1995 Pride and Prejudice adaptation), this song is my guilty pleasure. It’s cute, it’s sweet, it’s breezy, and there’s a clip of Idris Elba talking about scooters at the beginning (may he recover from Corona quickly and painlessly). It’s a good combo that makes for another competent pop bop.


They say home is where the heart is

But that's not where mine lives


Best Lyrics: “Death by a Thousand Cuts”


So apparently Swift wrote this after being inspired by the Netflix rom-com Something Great, and I was impressed that she was able to come up with something that sounded so personal despite being about someone else’s (fictional) experiences. The song is wordy, but like “Cruel Summer,” there isn’t a syllable that sounds forced. The metaphors and images are varied and come at you really fast, but you’re still able to make sense of everything after only a few listens. It’s just really solid, and the light electric guitar plucking that she sprinkled over the top is a nice touch.


Our songs, our films, united, we stand

Our country, guess it was a lawless land

Quiet my fears with the touch of your hand

Paper cut stings from my paper-thin plans


Biggest Creative Leap: “False God”


Apparently Taylor Swift writes sexy slow jams now? Who knew. I never expected to hear a saxophone on a Swift track, but here we are. And she pulls it off well! This song demonstrates how her vocal agility and ability to sell different styles have grown over the years, and I liked getting to see a more adult side of her.


And I can't talk to you when you're like this

Staring out the window like I'm not your favorite town

I'm New York City

I still do it for you, babe


Most Iconic: “The Man”


I personally find the lyrics in this song to be a little obvious - the subtlety of “Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince” is nowhere to be found - but I guess obvious issues need obvious call-outs. And after the music video in which Swift sat in makeup for hours to turn herself male and unrecognizable, I couldn’t help but give it a nod. It’s iconic, what can I say?


And we would toast to me, oh, let the players play

I'd be just like Leo, in Saint-Tropez


Personal Favorite: “I Think He Knows”


This was the first song I put on my favorites playlist after the album came out because I loved it immediately. The production in this song is flawless; the percussion is sharp, the moments of silence are purposeful, and the bass makes me wanna go find the busiest street I can and strut down it like I am a 10-time-Grammy-Award-winning artist with legs for days. It’s another one of Swift’s sexier songs, and she sells it. Despite not really relating to the lyrics at all, I can still easily picture the image and feelings she’s conjuring, and isn’t that what good songwriting does?


He got that boyish look that I like in a man

I am an architect, I'm drawing up the plans

He's so obsessed with me, and boy I understand

Boy I understand


I apologize to the songs that I left out, but I’ve only got so many words, and these just happened to be my personal favorites. Maybe if I sell my kidney (or just beg to my mother like the independent woman I am), I can go see the tour.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page