top of page
  • Writer's pictureWMTV

Anime 4 Dummies: Trying to Understand Anime Through Listening to My Boyfriend

By Cecelia Eure | Deputy Editor



Let me be clear, I am the dummy. I have only watched anime with or per a recommendation from my boyfriend, and even then only a little. The appeal is honestly kind of lost on me, and I definitely *lightly* bullied my friends in high school who watched shows in the medium. I would certainly not describe it as “bad,” but its hard for me to get what sets it apart from American television. He, however, has seen a ridiculous amount of anime, and though he claims not to be a weeb, I would, biasedly, call him an expert on anime. So, today, I am going to listen to what my boyfriend has to say about anime and attempt to understand and enjoy it.


I asked him a few questions that had been pressing on me. The responses are not direct quotes.


When did you start watching anime?

It depends, he was 6 or 7 when he first watched Pokemon and it was in English. He didn’t know it was anime though. First time he knew what he was watching was anime was in the seventh grade, and the show was called Sword Art Online. Ever since then, well, he’s seen quite a bit.


How much anime have you seen?

He has completed 392 shows. That’s a lot.


What are people’s perceptions of anime and annoys you the most about them?

People assume it’s all super sexualized. Basically, they mix up hentai and anime-- they are not the same thing! Outsiders really just have a negative perception. Anime is a medium, so it isn’t anything particular! Just like anything else, there are sexualized things. Plus,if you’re an anime fan, you may not have seen anything another anime fan has seen because there is just so much.


What about “weebs”?

Brican term, and it’s negative. Fans of anime have definitely adopted it, but that term isn’t used in Japan. There is a difference between being a “weeb” (obsessed with Japan) and being a big fan of anime.


What makes anime so special?

It’s fun. He added that there is a little something for everyone, and, in anime, anything goes. It can be funny, serious, action-packed, romantic, or incredibly niche. For him, the obsession stemmed largely from watching anime as a kid, and he doesn’t think he would like it this much now if he didn’t watch it as a child. Plus, there is the community aspect. There’s always people to talk to about anime in real life and online.


What shows would you recommend to someone who has never seen any Anime?

Hyouka is his favorite anime, but his recommendations differ person to person. Good standard shows are Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood and Attack on Titan. In terms of movies, his favorites are A Silent Voice (which I also like) and Weathering With You. Generally, anything Studio Ghibli makes is good.


So maybe I’ll never become an anime fan, and I really don’t want to be. Still, I hope that you, whoever happens to read this, takes this opportunity to try out some new form of entertainment, whether it be anime, musical theatre, opera, Russian cinema, bowling competitions, or what have you.


34 views0 comments
bottom of page